Welcome

This is the inaugural post for "Not the Cheese," an unofficial blog by a Colby College staffer about things that I hope will be of interest to the Colby College community.

I would like to start by setting some expectations.

First, regarding frequency of posting. I make no promises about how often I will post to this blog. This is purely experimental, and (as with most things) likely to take one of two paths. You can figure out what those two paths are. I will try to strike a balance between stagnance and saturation. Beyond that, your guess is as good as mine.

Secondly, subject matter. I will try to write about things that are relevant to the College and its constituents. That means that just about anything is fair game. I will try, in most cases, to tie the discussion directly back to the College, but sometimes there are larger issues that are just too interesting to ignore, regardless of any direct or immediate relationship to Colby.

I encourage you to comment on anything you see here–whether it is a specific post, a reader's comment, the general content of the blog, the writing style (be gentle!), the frequency (or lack thereof) of content, or the structure of the blog itself–anything is fair game. I ask only one thing. In your comments, please be resepctful, appropriate, and, wherever possible, constructive. It is possible (and often more effective) to express passionate, sincere disagreement with someone, while maintaining a respectful and constructive tone. I will be moderating comments and I reserve the right not to post anything that I feel detracts from the level of discourse on the site.

Thank you for taking the time, and I look forward to seeing how this develops.

Leave a Reply

